» TRAVEL TOURISM » Heritage Tourism » Khajuraho-Hertage-Madhya pradesh
Views : 860

Khajuraho-Hertage-Madhya pradesh

Heritage Tourism
 Khajuraho-Hertage-Madhya pradeshThe Khajuraho Group of Monuments in Khajuraho is located in Chatarpur District, Madya Pradesh state, india. Khajuraho is a magnificiant village with a quaint rural ambience and a rich cultural heritage. Kajuraho temples are one of the most popular tourist destinations in India. The name Khajuraho is dervived from “Kharjuravahaka; kharjura means date palm and vāhaka means one who carries. The Khajuraho temples have been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Khajuraho comprises of the ancient Hindu and Jain temples. Khajuraho temples were constructed between 950 and 1050 A.D. during the period of Chandel Empire.

Kandariya Mahadeo, ChaunsathYogini, Chitragupta Temple, Vishwanatha Temple, Lakshmana Temple and Matangeshwara Temple are belongs to western group. Parsvanatha Temple, Ghantai Temple, Adinatha Temple, Vamana temple and Brahma temple are falls under eastern division. Duladeo Temple and Chaturbhuja Temple were belongs to southeren group.

The whole area of Khajuraho was enclosed by a wall having eight gates. Each gate is bounded by two golden palm trees. There were originally over 80 Hindu temples, out of which only 25 temples are still exist. The Khajuraho temples are made of sandstone. The builders didn't use mortar. The stone blocks were first carved and then the interlocking pieces were assembled to form a temple. These sculptures of Khajuraho temples look very realistic and stunning. The Saraswati temple of Birla Institute of Technology and Science, india are modeled after the Khajuraho temple. The Khajuraho Dance Festival is held every year in February/March. In the open area of Khajuraho temple complex, a fascinating light and sound show is played at evening times. The first show is in English language and the second one in Hindi.

Daily flights connect Khajuraho with Delhi, Agra, Varanasi and Kathmandu. The nearest railheads to Kajuraho are Mahoba (64 km) and Harpalpur (94 km). Regular buses ply from Mahoba, Harpalpur, Satna, Jhansi, Gwalior, Agra, Jabalpur and Bhopal to Kajuraho.